Nursing description - Registered nurses play a vital role in providing, leading and coordinating care that is compassionate, evidence-based, and person-centred. They are accountable for their own actions and must be able to work autonomously, or as an equal partner with a range of other professionals, and in interdisciplinary teams. This information can also be found here: is one of the most dynamic and rewarding roles within healthcare. They work directly with the patient in variety of setting which may include hospital wards, operating theatres, schools, patient homes and more.

There are four key areas of nursing that someone can choose to specialise in, with each leading on to a wide range of rewarding roles with plenty of scope for progression.

  • Adult Nurse
  • Mental Health Nurse
  • Learning Disability Nurse
  • Children’s Nurse.

Please also visit our Registered Nurse Degree Apprenticeship page. You can access information and resources about the Level 6 Registered Nurse – Degree (NMC 2018) page.

The Nursing Apprenticeship Standards Printable gives a brief overview of the apprenticeship standards in this area.

The following apprenticeship standards are available in these areas:

Follow the links to see more about each apprenticeship including the stage of development, funding band and duration. You can also download the standard and end point assessment documents as well as checking the training providers and end point assessment organisations that may be available.

Pathways Tool

You can access our Pathways Tool here. 

This tool allows you to see more about how apprentices may progress from one occupation to another.

Case Studies